Making changes in the console, then logging out causes changes to be saved.
This isn't actually entirely unexpected behavior. The dialog that appears when trying to log out with pending changes doesn't say whether changes will be saved or not after confirming you want to log out. The dialog should be more explicit in this regard. So that you may cancel logging out and revert changes if you don't want them to be saved.
The behavior however was changed in 7.7 :
CMS7-5295 and we should backport that change to 7.5 and 7.6. But we should also improve the message in the dialog to explicitly state that changes will be lost on log out.