It has been decided that the 'remember me' checkbox functionality that is part of the login dialog of the CMS will be removed from the system. This will happen soon in one of the upcoming patches or releases. The removal includes user interface and all underlying logic. This affects all supported Hippo CMS versions in both community as well as enterprise editions.
Reason for this decision is the growing importance of security for our users. For an enterprise grade system as Hippo, the feature is not up to par with the required security level of today. This does not mean that the system is insecure or that there is an immediate threat, but this improvement will result in a more secure system.
This means that:
- the feature is no longer supported,
- the feature code will be removed,
- all issues filed about this feature will be closed.
Prerequisite to get this improvement, once available, is that you upgrade your Hippo CMS instance to the latest 7.7, 7.8 or 7.9 maintenance release.